Greenwood Lake Volunteer Fire Department

Greenwood Lake Fire District

Click here to edit subtitle

The Greenwood Lake Fire District consists of five publicly elected officials known as the Board of Fire Commissioners, each of whom serves a five-year term. Much like the volunteer firefighters we work with, we are not paid to serve as Commissioners.


It is our responsibility to provide the necessary apparatus and equipment needed to assist the Greenwood Lake Fire Department in the fire and rescue activities that are essential for the protection of life and property within the Greenwood Lake Fire District.


It is also our responsibility to operate the Greenwood Lake Fire District in accordance with the laws of the State of New York.

Board of Fire Commissioners

The board meets on a monthly basis, to oversee the operation of the Fire District and to make policies and procedures under which the Fire District.

Regular scheduled meetings are 2nd Thursday of the month at 6:00 pm.

We remain keenly aware of the fiduciary responsibility we hold in representing the taxpayers within our Fire District. As Commissioners, we are mandated to follow a strict formula in preparing the budget in accordance with the laws of the State of New York, including specified spending limits.

Our process is a public one, and we welcome the input of the residents and taxpayers we represent

Chairman of the Board of Fire Commissioners

 Wayne Russo

Deputy Chairman 

Al Nicholas

Fire Commissioners 

John Collins Sr

Jon Lowenberg

Michael Dunlop

District Secretary/Treasurer 

Dody Nicholas